Events Calendar

February 2018
S M T W T F S
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 1 2 3

Latest Events

Fri Mar 09
AWWA School Anniversary Celebration
Sat Mar 10
Start of School holiday
Sun Mar 11
School Holiday
Mon Mar 12
School Holiday
Tue Mar 13
School Holiday
Wed Mar 14
School Holiday
Thu Mar 15
School Holiday
Fri Mar 16
School Holiday
Sat Mar 17
School Holiday
Sun Mar 18
School Holiday
Mon Mar 19
School Reopens (Term 2)

Music Therapy

Music Therapy forms part of the allied health team contributing to the understanding of the child's needs and abilities. Music Therapy can be used to address and facilitate various aspects of the child's development such as:

  • - attention and concentration

  • - communication skills

  • - social skills

  • - sensory development


Music therapist (right) adopting family-oriented approach,
empowering caregivers to use music with the child.


It can also be used to address emotional and behavioural difficulties and problems associated with self-esteem and confidence. Promoting a greater sense of emotional well-being is beneficial for a child's capacity to make maximum use of learning opportunities.

An example of how Music Therapy is used:
Music Therapy utilises an inherent response to music that is universal and usually remains unimpaired despite disability, illness or injury. Through musical improvisation, the child, together with the therapist, develops a musical language through which the child's expression and communication can be developed. This process can be extremely valuable for children whose verbal communication is a difficult form of self-expression.

 



Programmes offered:

  • - Individual music therapy sessions to meet specific goals within a child's
       Individualised Education Plan (IEP).

 

  • - Group music therapy sessions for social interaction opportunities and complementing
       Social Emotional Learning (SEL) objectives.

 

  • - Consultative services to classroom teachers to create sustainable music-facilitated strategies for
       teaching purposes.