Events Calendar

February 2018
S M T W T F S
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 1 2 3

Latest Events

Fri Mar 09
AWWA School Anniversary Celebration
Sat Mar 10
Start of School holiday
Sun Mar 11
School Holiday
Mon Mar 12
School Holiday
Tue Mar 13
School Holiday
Wed Mar 14
School Holiday
Thu Mar 15
School Holiday
Fri Mar 16
School Holiday
Sat Mar 17
School Holiday
Sun Mar 18
School Holiday
Mon Mar 19
School Reopens (Term 2)

Psychology

Department Objectives

The Department of Psychology aims to improve the quality of life of AWWA pupils by maximizing their educational and social potential.

The Department contributes to:

The behaviour management of pupils so as to maximize their learning in school and at home.

The readiness of the pupils to be ultimately integrated back into mainstream society to lead dignified and independent lives.

Our Services

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Psychological Assessments
Psychologists conduct formal and informal assessments of pupils’ functional and cognitive abilities as required by other agencies or schools for the purpose of referral. Staff may recommend or parents may request for an assessment to be conducted.

Intervention Support
Individualized intervention plans are developed and carried out for pupils to address behavioural, social and emotional issues that occur in school.  

Initial Screening
Psychologists are part of a team of professionals who screen new applicants for admission and give recommendation for suitable class placement.

Training
Trainings are conducted for caregivers, staff and volunteers on topics related to the cognitive, social and behavioural development of pupils with special needs.