Events Calendar

February 2018
S M T W T F S
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 1 2 3

Latest Events

Fri Mar 09
AWWA School Anniversary Celebration
Sat Mar 10
Start of School holiday
Sun Mar 11
School Holiday
Mon Mar 12
School Holiday
Tue Mar 13
School Holiday
Wed Mar 14
School Holiday
Thu Mar 15
School Holiday
Fri Mar 16
School Holiday
Sat Mar 17
School Holiday
Sun Mar 18
School Holiday
Mon Mar 19
School Reopens (Term 2)

Language


The Language Programme in AWWA School adopts the Whole Language Philosophy where language is taught and learnt through a variety of strategies throughout the day.

These include carrying out approaches such as Shared Book Reading and Language Experience Approach where stories and literary activities are planned based on the pupils’ real life experiences. Learning journeys centered on a theme are often carried out to facilitate the learning and experiencing of language.


Story books, information books, interactive books, new media books and sensory books are brought out to enhance the learning experience of the pupils, as teachers aim to inculcate the love of reading.

Pupils also explore rhymes and fun language games as they engage in their everyday learning.

 Activities under the Language Programme

 

  • - (above) Our new Language board showcasing pupils engaged in language activities and also news of upcoming events.

  • - kidsRead – A collaborative effort between the NLB and volunteers in AWWA to bring story-telling sessions to the school.

  • - MOLLY the Mobile Library – Catch MOLLY the Mobile Library from NLB, the roving bus with a whole load of books to be borrowed and read, as she makes her fortnightly visits to AWWA School.

  • - Reading Mastery – Several classes engage in a programme based on Direct Instruction method, complete with workbooks, story books and picture books.

  • - AAC (Alternative Augmentative Communication) – Pupils learn to communicate using a variety of AAC devices such as picture cards, iPads, communication boards and books.